1219.) Psalm 118

P118 sun

Psalm 118   (NIV 1984)

“This is my own beloved Psalm.  Although the entire Psalter and all of Holy Scripture are dear to me as my only comfort and source of life, I fell in love with this psalm especially.  Therefore I call it my own.  When emperors and kings, the wise and the learned, and even the saints could not aid me, this psalm proved a friend and helped me out of many great troubles . As a result, it is dearer to me than all the wealth, honor, and power of the pope, the Turk, and the emperor.  I would be most unwilling to trade this psalm for all of it.”

–Martin Luther

Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good;
his love endures forever.

Let Israel say:
“His love endures forever.”
Let the house of Aaron say:
“His love endures forever.”
Let those who fear the Lord say:
“His love endures forever.”

In my anguish I cried to the Lord,
and he answered by setting me free.
The Lord is with me; I will not be afraid.
What can man do to me?

P118 resurrection_icon

Since New Testament times, Psalm 118 evokes for Christians the story of Easter.

“Out of my distress I called on the Lord;
the Lord answered me and set me in a broad place. 
With the Lord on my side I do not fear.
What can mortals do to me?” (118:5-6).

This confidence – what can mortals do to me? – anticipates Paul’s great resurrection chapter in 1 Corinthians 15. But instead of taunting mere mortals, Paul addresses death itself:

“Death, where is your sting? Grave, where is your victory?” (1 Corinthians 15:54, 55).

–Nancy Koester

The Lord is with me; he is my helper.
I will look in triumph on my enemies.

It is better to take refuge in the Lord
than to trust in man.
It is better to take refuge in the Lord
than to trust in princes.

This Psalm contains the center verses of the Protestant Bible (verses 8-9). The placement is unique in other ways. The shortest Psalm is immediately before and invites the nations (the Gentiles) to join in exalting God. The longest Psalm is immediately after which is an extended doxology of praise related to the law of Moses.

–Wikipedia

10 All the nations surrounded me,
but in the name of the Lord I cut them off.
11 They surrounded me on every side,
but in the name of the Lord I cut them off.
12 They swarmed around me like bees,
but they died out as quickly as burning thorns;
in the name of the Lord I cut them off.

13 I was pushed back and about to fall,
but the Lord helped me.
14 The Lord is my strength and my song;
he has become my salvation.

15 Shouts of joy and victory
resound in the tents of the righteous:
“The Lord’s right hand has done mighty things!
16  The Lord’s right hand is lifted high;
the Lord’s right hand has done mighty things!”

From where does our comfort & help come? How do we get such satisfying treasures? Where do we turn to receive their benefits? Comfort & help are wholly what God does, & speaks, & gives to us in Jesus’ Cross. The rejected Cornerstone is our Strength & Song & Salvation! God, in the end, will be our Salvation! He alone will help us in life & death & give us the victory!

Here the psalmist sings of victory and joy. He does this to increase our comfort, painting a beautiful word picture of the blessed children of God who’ve been rescued from trouble and distress, who are now confident on account of all His works and Word to them which creates confidence that trusts completely that in the end we too will sing joyously about the victory of God which comes through the sufferings of Christ. In Christ is our joy and victory, our singing, praise and thanks because in Him we live and move and have our victory song.

–adapted from Martin Luther

17 I will not die but live,
and will proclaim what the Lord has done.
18 The Lord has chastened me severely,
but he has not given me over to death.

19 Open for me the gates of righteousness;
I will enter and give thanks to the Lord.
20 This is the gate of the Lord
through which the righteous may enter.
21 I will give you thanks, for you answered me;
you have become my salvation.

22 The stone the builders rejected
has become the capstone;
23 the Lord has done this,
and it is marvelous in our eyes.

P118 cornerstone

These verses are quoted by Jesus in Matthew 21:42, Mark 12:10, and Luke 20:17, as well as by Peter in Acts 4:11 and 1 Peter 2:7.

God has given the Lord Jesus His proper place in the hearts and affections of His people.  The crowning day has come at last!

–William MacDonald

24 This is the day the Lord has made;
let us rejoice and be glad in it.

25 O Lord, save us;
O Lord, grant us success.
26 Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord.
From the house of the Lord we bless you.
27 The Lord is God,
and he has made his light shine upon us.
With boughs in hand, join in the festal procession
up to the horns of the altar.

28 You are my God, and I will give you thanks;
you are my God, and I will exalt you.

29 Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good;
his love endures forever.

P106 pumpkins_________________________

Music:

Phil Wickham (a Contemporary Christian vocalist/songwriter and guitarist from San Diego, California) and “This Is the Day.”

Click  HERE  to listen — and sing along!
_________________________

New International Version 1984 (NIV1984)   Holy Bible, New International Version®, NIV® Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984 by Biblica, Inc.® Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide.
Images courtesy of:
This is the day . . .    http://www.dodsonlumber.com/acts242/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/this_is_the_day.png
Christ’s resurrection.    https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-mV-bdzCEBLg/T4G7cB1jCqI/AAAAAAAACes/U9ttANC7ghU/s0/resurrection_icon.jpg
cornerstone.   http://www.silk.net/RelEd/Year%20B/graphics/easterB_1.gif
O give thanks.    http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_UQt1weDeKG4/TKKrF2B60uI/AAAAAAAAAkw/9zryHX58_0Y/s1600/Psalm106_cont8x10.jpg
Leave a Reply

