1304.) Job 29

Job29 greatly-blessed

Job 29   (NLT)

Job Speaks of His Former Blessings

Job continued speaking:

Job was blessed in his relationship with God:

“I long for the years gone by
    when God took care of me,
when he lit up the way before me
    and I walked safely through the darkness.

Job28 God's promise

Psalm 18:28 (ESV)

For it is you who light my lamp;
    the Lord my God lightens my darkness.

When I was in my prime,
    God’s friendship was felt in my home.
The Almighty was still with me,
    and my children were around me.
My cows produced milk in abundance,
    and my groves poured out streams of olive oil.

Job was blessed in the relationships with people:

“Those were the days when I went to the city gate
    and took my place among the honored leaders.
The young stepped aside when they saw me,
    and even the aged rose in respect at my coming.
The princes stood in silence
    and put their hands over their mouths.
10 The highest officials of the city stood quietly,
    holding their tongues in respect.

11 “All who heard me praised me.
    All who saw me spoke well of me.
12 For I assisted the poor in their need
    and the orphans who required help.

Job28 God's promise

James 1:27   (ESV)

Religion that is pure and undefiled before God, the Father, is this: to visit orphans and widows in their affliction, and to keep oneself unstained from the world.

13 I helped those without hope, and they blessed me.
    And I caused the widows’ hearts to sing for joy.
14 Everything I did was honest.
    Righteousness covered me like a robe,
    and I wore justice like a turban.
15 I served as eyes for the blind
    and feet for the lame.
16 I was a father to the poor
    and assisted strangers who needed help.

Job28 God's promise

Proverbs 29:7   (ESV)

A righteous man knows the rights of the poor;
    a wicked man does not understand such knowledge.

17 I broke the jaws of godless oppressors
    and plucked their victims from their teeth.

Job’s former sense of security and confidence:

18 “I thought, ‘Surely I will die surrounded by my family
    after a long, good life.
19 For I am like a tree whose roots reach the water,
    whose branches are refreshed with the dew.

Job28 God's promise

Jeremiah 17:7-8 (ESV)

“Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord,
    whose trust is the Lord.
He is like a tree planted by water,
    that sends out its roots by the stream,
and does not fear when heat comes,
    for its leaves remain green,
and is not anxious in the year of drought,
    for it does not cease to bear fruit.”

20 New honors are constantly bestowed on me,
    and my strength is continually renewed.’

Job’s former authority and leadership in the community:

21 “Everyone listened to my advice.
    They were silent as they waited for me to speak.
22 And after I spoke, they had nothing to add,
    for my counsel satisfied them.
23 They longed for me to speak as people long for rain.
    They drank my words like a refreshing spring rain.
24 When they were discouraged, I smiled at them.
    My look of approval was precious to them.
25 Like a chief, I told them what to do.
    I lived like a king among his troops
    and comforted those who mourned.

_________________________

Music:

In good times, like those Job has described, and in bad times — I’m “Never Gonna Stop” praising You!  HERE  is the song; the words and music are by Tommy Walker.

_________________________

New Living Translation (NLT) Holy Bible. New Living Translation copyright© 1996, 2004, 2007 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved

Images courtesy of:
I am greatly blessed.    http://aviesplace.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/greatly-blessed.jpg
Leave a Reply

