1443.) Psalms 4 and 5

Psalm 4

Confident Plea for Deliverance from Enemies

P4 v1 rainbow

1Answer me when I call, O God of my right! You gave me room when I was in distress. Be gracious to me, and hear my prayer.

2How long, you people, shall my honor suffer shame? How long will you love vain words, and seek after lies? Selah

3But know that the Lord has set apart the faithful for himself; the Lord hears when I call to him.

4When you are disturbed, do not sin; ponder it on your beds, and be silent. Selah

“Do not sin”

Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry.

–James 1:19 (New International Version)

5Offer right sacrifices, and put your trust in the Lord.

6There are many who say, “O that we might see some good! Let the light of your face shine on us, O Lord!”

Numbers 6:24-26 (English Standard Version)

The LORD bless you and keep you;
the LORD make his face to shine upon you
and be gracious to you;
the LORD lift up his countenance upon you
and give you peace.

7You have put gladness in my heart more than when their grain and wine abound.

Reflection:

“The kingdom of God is not food and drink, but righteousness and peace and joy in the Holy Spirit.”
–Romans 14:17

What feeds your heart?

8I will both lie down and sleep in peace; for you alone, O Lord, make me lie down in safety.

4-baby-sleeping-bw

“lie down and sleep in peace”

Jesus said, “If you are tired from carrying heavy burdens, come to me and I will give you rest.”

— Matthew 11:28 (Contemporary English Version)

_________________________

Psalm 5   (NRSV)

Trust in God for Deliverance from Enemies

5-psalm5-3

1Give ear to my words, O Lord; give heed to my sighing.

2Listen to the sound of my cry, my King and my God, for to you I pray.

3O Lord, in the morning you hear my voice; in the morning I plead my case to you, and watch.

“In the morning”

Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where He prayed.
– Mark 1:35

“I plead my case”

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.
– Philippians 4:6

4For you are not a God who delights in wickedness; evil will not sojourn with you.

5The boastful will not stand before your eyes; you hate all evildoers.

6You destroy those who speak lies; the Lord abhors the bloodthirsty and deceitful.

7But I, through the abundance of your steadfast love, will enter your house, I will bow down toward your holy temple in awe of you.

This is David’s confidence — not his own righteousness, but God’s “steadfast love” and mercy.

8Lead me, O Lord, in your righteousness because of my enemies; make your way straight before me.

Geese flying straight, photographed on the South Platte River Valley by Marek Uliasz.

Geese flying straight, photographed on the South Platte River Valley by Marek Uliasz.

9For there is no truth in their mouths; their hearts are destruction; their throats are open graves; they flatter with their tongues.

10Make them bear their guilt, O God; let them fall by their own counsels; because of their many transgressions cast them out, for they have rebelled against you.

11But let all who take refuge in you rejoice; let them ever sing for joy. Spread your protection over them, so that those who love your name may exult in you.

12For you bless the righteous, O Lord; you cover them with favor as with a shield.

Luther's rose

Luther’s shield

When Martin Luther was on his way to face a Cardinal of the Roman Catholic Church to answer for what they said were his heretical teachings, one of the Cardinal’s servants taunted him saying, “Where will you find shelter if your patron, the Elector of Saxony, should desert you?”  Luther answered, “Under the shelter of heaven.”

Ephesians 6:16   (NRSV)

Take the shield of faith, with which you will be able to quench all the flaming arrows of the evil one.

Titus 3:5 (English Standard Version)

He saved us, not because of works done by us in righteousness, but according to his own mercy.

_________________________

Music:

HERE  is “Give Ear Unto My Words, O Lord”  a hymn based on Psalm 5, composed by Dwight Armstrong and performed by the Laodicean Church of God.

___________________________

The New Revised Standard Version, copyright 1989 by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Images courtesy of:
Psalm 4:1 with rainbow.    https://dwellingintheword.files.wordpress.com/2014/11/2e803-august27252c2011252cpsalm4-1.jpg
Aaron’s benediction.     http://www.ratnermuseum.com/includes/images/photos/bible/bible-43.jpg
baby sleeping.  http://www.babyphotospictures.com/thumb/baby-sleeping-black-and-white.jpg
Psalm 5: 3.   http://www.heartlight.org/blogpics/psalm5-3.jpg
Uliasz.   http://photokayaker.fit2paddle.com/C2079147609/E20070225215203/index.html
Luther’s rose.    http://www.lutheransonline.com/lo/990/FSLO-1179611990-111990.JPG
Leave a Reply

