1444.) Psalms 6 and 7

Psalm 6   (NRSV)

Prayer for Recovery from Grave Illness

6-verse-9

1O Lord, do not rebuke me in your anger, or discipline me in your wrath.

2Be gracious to me, O Lord, for I am languishing; O Lord, heal me, for my bones are shaking with terror.

3My soul also is struck with terror, while you, O Lord—how long?

4Turn, O Lord, save my life; deliver me for the sake of your steadfast love.

bent-over woman

“Deliver me for the sake of your steadfast love. . .”

Luke 13:10-13 (The Message)

He was teaching in one of the meeting places on the Sabbath. There was a woman present, so twisted and bent over with arthritis that she couldn’t even look up. She had been afflicted with this for eighteen years. When Jesus saw her, he called her over. “Woman, you’re free!” He laid hands on her and suddenly she was standing straight and tall, giving glory to God.

5For in death there is no remembrance of you; in Sheol who can give you praise?

6I am weary with my moaning; every night I flood my bed with tears; I drench my couch with my weeping.

The Lord understands the meaning of our tears, when our words fail.

7My eyes waste away because of grief; they grow weak because of all my foes.

8Depart from me, all you workers of evil, for the Lord has heard the sound of my weeping.

9The Lord has heard my supplication; the Lord accepts my prayer.

“The Lord accepts my prayer”

We are certain that God will hear our prayers when we ask for what pleases him.  And if we know that God listens when we pray, we are sure that our prayers have already been answered.
— 1 John 5: 14-15 (Contemporary English Version)

When the people recognized Jesus, the news of his arrival spread quickly throughout the whole area, and soon people were bringing all their sick to be healed.  They begged him to let the sick touch at least the fringe of his robe, and all who touched him were healed.
— Matthew 14:35-36 (New Living Translation)

10All my enemies shall be ashamed and struck with terror; they shall turn back, and in a moment be put to shame.

Psalm 7   (NRSV)

Plea for Help against Persecutors

"Psalm 7"  by Moshe Tzvi HaLevi Berger (The Museum of Psalms, Jerusalem)

“Psalm 7” by Moshe Tzvi HaLevi Berger (The Museum of Psalms, Jerusalem)

1O Lord my God, in you I take refuge; save me from all my pursuers, and deliver me,

2or like a lion they will tear me apart; they will drag me away, with no one to rescue.

3O Lord my God, if I have done this, if there is wrong in my hands,

4if I have repaid my ally with harm or plundered my foe without cause,

5then let the enemy pursue and overtake me, trample my life to the ground, and lay my soul in the dust. Selah

David is not claiming to be perfect, but that he is innocent of the charges his enemies have made against him.

6Rise up, O Lord, in your anger; lift yourself up against the fury of my enemies; awake, O my God; you have appointed a judgment.

7Let the assembly of the peoples be gathered around you, and over it take your seat on high.

8The Lord judges the peoples; judge me, O Lord, according to my righteousness and according to the integrity that is in me.

Psalm 139:23-24 (New International Version)

Search me, O God, and know my heart;
test me and know my anxious thoughts.

See if there is any offensive way in me,
and lead me in the way everlasting.

9O let the evil of the wicked come to an end, but establish the righteous, you who test the minds and hearts, O righteous God.

10God is my shield, who saves the upright in heart.

11God is a righteous judge,

"The heavens proclaim his righteousness, for God himself is a judge." -- Psalm 50:6

“The heavens proclaim his righteousness, for God himself is a judge.” — Psalm 50:6

and a God who has indignation every day.

12If one does not repent, God will whet his sword; he has bent and strung his bow;

13he has prepared his deadly weapons, making his arrows fiery shafts.

14See how they conceive evil, and are pregnant with mischief, and bring forth lies.

15They make a pit, digging it out, and fall into the hole that they have made.

16Their mischief returns upon their own heads, and on their own heads their violence descends.

My mother used to say, “What you put into the lives of others, comes back into your own.”

17I will give to the Lord the thanks due to his righteousness, and sing praise to the name of the Lord, the Most High.

P7 sing praise_________________________

Music:

HERE  is “Sing, Sing, Sing”  by Chris Tomlin.  Don’t let a day go by without singing praise to our wonderful Lord!

_________________________

The New Revised Standard Version, copyright 1989 by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Images courtesy of:
Psalm 6: 9.   http://wonders.wallpaperdave.com/ps06-09v.jpg
bent-over woman.    http://176.32.230.2/stmarysblog.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/Woman-bent-double1.jpg
Berger.    http://pastorblog.cumcdebary.org/wp-content/uploads/2012/06/7-museum-of-psalms.jpg
judge and gavel.   http://s3.amazonaws.com/rapgenius/gavel-judge.jpg
I will sing praise.   http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2126/2087657653_a254ea45c9.jpg
Leave a Reply

