1523.) Psalm 26

Ps26 examine
Psalm 26 (New International Version)

Of David.

1 Vindicate me, O LORD,
for I have led a blameless life;
I have trusted in the LORD
without wavering.

2 Test me, O LORD, and try me,
examine my heart and my mind;

3 for your love is ever before me,
and I walk continually in your truth.

4 I do not sit with deceitful men,
nor do I consort with hypocrites;

5 I abhor the assembly of evildoers
and refuse to sit with the wicked.

Psalm 1:1 (New American Standard Bible)

How blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked,
Nor stand in the path of sinners,
Nor sit in the seat of scoffers!

6 I wash my hands in innocence,
and go about your altar, O LORD,

7 proclaiming aloud your praise
and telling of all your wonderful deeds.

Ps26 altar

Take 30 seconds right now and thank God for (as many as you can of) all the good gifts he has given to you in the past week!  Keep that list of thanksgiving going in your mind all day long!

8 I love the house where you live, O LORD,
the place where your glory dwells.

9 Do not take away my soul along with sinners,
my life with bloodthirsty men,

10 in whose hands are wicked schemes,
whose right hands are full of bribes.

11 But I lead a blameless life;
redeem me and be merciful to me.

12 My feet stand on level ground;
in the great assembly I will praise the LORD.

Psalm 143:10 (New International Version)

Teach me to do your will,
for you are my God;
may your good Spirit
lead me on level ground.

_________________________

Music:

HERE  is a hymn that came to mind upon reading the last line of this psalm:  in the great assembly I will praise the LORD.

from Wikipedia:

O for a Thousand Tongues to Sing” is a Christian hymn written by Charles Wesley. Charles Wesley wrote over 6,000 hymns, many of which were subsequently reprinted, frequently with alterations, in hymnals, particularly those of Methodist Churches.

Charles Wesley was suffering a bout of pleurisy in May, 1738, while he and his brother were studying under the Moravian scholar Peter Bohler in London. At the time, Wesley was plagued by extreme doubts about his faith. Taken to bed with the sickness on May 21 Wesley was attended by a group of Christians who offered him testimony and basic care, and he was deeply affected by this. He read from his Bible and found himself deeply affected by the words, and at peace with God. Shortly his strength began to return. He wrote of this experience in his journal and counted it as a renewal of his faith; when his brother John had a similar experience on the 24th, the two men met and sang a hymn Wesley had written in praise of his renewal.

One year from the experience, Wesley was taken with the urge to write another hymn, this one in commemoration of his renewal of faith. This hymn took the form of an 18-stanza poem, beginning with the opening lines ‘Glory to God, and praise, and love,/Be ever, ever given’ and was published in 1740 and entitled ‘For the anniversary day of one’s conversion’. The seventh verse, which begins, ‘O for a thousand tongues to sing’, and which now is invariably the first verse of a shorter hymn, recalls the words of Peter Bohler who said, ‘Had I a thousand tongues I would praise Him with them all.’ The hymn was placed first in John Wesley’s A Collection of Hymns for the People Called Methodists published in 1780. It appeared first in every (Wesleyan) Methodist hymnal from that time until the publication of Hymns and Psalms in 1983.

_________________________

New International Version (NIV) Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984 by Biblica

Images courtesy of:
Examine.   http://www.dailylifeverse.com/posts/images/2013/06/psalm-26-2.jpg?s=full
26:2 with white lilacs.    http://wonders.wallpaperdave.com/reqw12.jpg
I come to your altar.    https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/236x/3e/18/10/3e18107d719570f67fe25f7fd218af8d.jpg
level ground.   https://dwellingintheword.files.wordpress.com/2011/08/level-ground1.jpg
2 Responses to 1523.) Psalm 26

  1. This is the Truth, more people need to hear this…I really look forward to reading your latest post ….Great Job ……https://gottruthdecay.wordpress.com/

  2. Ebo says:

    Praise be to God! Thank you very much.

Leave a Reply

