1524.) Psalm 28

A huge rock!  Stone Mountain is “a quartz monzonite dome monadnock” outside of Atlanta, Georgia.  That means! — it is a granite-like solitary outcropping of rock, measuring 5 miles around its base and rising 825 feet above the surrounding area.  I suggest the steep walk to the top for a beautiful view; only wimps take the Skyride!

Psalm 28 (NIV)

1 To you I call, O LORD my Rock;
do not turn a deaf ear to me.
For if you remain silent,
I will be like those who have gone down to the pit.

2 Hear my cry for mercy
as I call to you for help,
as I lift up my hands
toward your Most Holy Place.

_________________________

Music:

The hymn “Rock of Ages” was composed in 1775.  HERE  it is sung by the Antrim Mennonite Choir.

_________________________

3 Do not drag me away with the wicked,
with those who do evil,
who speak cordially with their neighbors
but harbor malice in their hearts.

Do not let me have a heart that harbors malice!

4 Repay them for their deeds
and for their evil work;
repay them for what their hands have done
and bring back upon them what they deserve.

5 Since they show no regard for the works of the LORD
and what his hands have done,
he will tear them down
and never build them up again.

6 Praise be to the LORD,
for he has heard my cry for mercy.

Mark 1:40-42 (New International Version)

A man with leprosy came to him and begged him on his knees, “If you are willing, you can make me clean.”

Filled with compassion, Jesus reached out his hand and touched the man. “I am willing,” he said. “Be clean!” Immediately the leprosy left him and he was cured.

7 The LORD is my strength and my shield;
my heart trusts in him, and I am helped.
My heart leaps for joy
and I will give thanks to him in song.

Rather, give me a heart that trusts and rejoices in You!

8 The LORD is the strength of his people,
a fortress of salvation for his anointed one.

9 Save your people and bless your inheritance;
be their shepherd and carry them forever.

P27 shepherd

Revelation 7:13-17 (New Living Translation)

Then one of the twenty-four elders asked me, “Who are these who are clothed in white? Where did they come from?”

And I said to him, “Sir, you are the one who knows.”

Then he said to me, “These are the ones who died in the great tribulation. They have washed their robes in the blood of the Lamb and made them white.

“That is why they stand in front of God’s throne
and serve him day and night in his Temple.
And he who sits on the throne
will give them shelter.
They will never again be hungry or thirsty;

they will never be scorched by the heat of the sun.
For the Lamb on the throne
will be their Shepherd.

He will lead them to springs of life-giving water.
And God will wipe every tear from their eyes.”

_________________________

New International Version (NIV) Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984 by Biblica

Images courtesy of:
Stone Mountain, Atlanta, GA.    http://markandmegan.net/images/StoneMountain.jpg
Jesus healing a leper.    http://www.sundayschoollessons.com/sunfolderzh/image3.gif
Psalm 23 shepherd.    http://theeaglesnest.files.wordpress.com/2007/01/shepherd-1662c.jpg
Leave a Reply

