1679.) Psalms 77

Psalm 77 (English Standard Version)

In the Day of Trouble I Seek the Lord

To the choirmaster: according to Jeduthun. A Psalm of Asaph.

A lament . . . about me. Note all the times the author says “I.”

1I cry aloud to God,
aloud to God, and he will hear me.
2 In the day of my trouble I seek the Lord;
in the night my hand is stretched out without wearying;
my soul refuses to be comforted.
3When I remember God, I moan;
when I meditate, my spirit faints.
Selah

4You hold my eyelids open;
I am so troubled that I cannot speak.
5I consider the days of old,
the years long ago.
6I said, “Let me remember my song in the night;
let me meditate in my heart.”
Then my spirit made a diligent search:
7“Will the Lord spurn forever,
and never again be favorable?
8Has his steadfast love forever ceased?
Are his promises at an end for all time?
9 Has God forgotten to be gracious?
Has he in anger shut up his compassion?”
Selah

Isaiah 49:15 (NIV)

“Can a mother forget the baby at her breast
   and have no compassion on the child she has borne?
Though she may forget,
   I will not forget you!”

10Then I said, “I will appeal to this,
to the years of the right hand of the Most High.”

A hymn . . . to praise the Lord. Note all the references to “You” and “Your.”

11I will remember the deeds of the LORD;
yes, I will remember your wonders of old.

“I will remember” — Do God and God’s help seem far away? The psalmist composes a list, making present God’s great deeds of Israel’s past by reciting them. Could that method work for us?

12I will ponder all your work,
and meditate on your mighty deeds.

Philippians 4:8 (NIV)

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

13Your way, O God, is holy.
What god is great like our God?
14You are the God who works wonders;
you have made known your might among the peoples.
15You with your arm redeemed your people,
the children of Jacob and Joseph.
Selah

The story of God parting the Red Sea and bringing his people out of Egypt never gets old!

16When the waters saw you, O God,
when the waters saw you, they were afraid;
indeed, the deep trembled.
17The clouds poured out water;
the skies gave forth thunder;
your arrows flashed on every side.
18 The crash of your thunder was in the whirlwind;
your lightnings lighted up the world;
the earth trembled and shook.
19Your way was through the sea,
your path through the great waters;
yet your footprints were unseen.
20You led your people like a flock
by the hand of Moses and Aaron.

_________________________

Music:

We worship the God who saves us, who is worthy of all our praises!  HERE  is “Hosanna”  by Paul Baloche and Brenton Brown.

Praise is rising, eyes are turning to You, we turn to You
Hope is stirring, hearts are yearning for You, we long for You
‘Cause when we see You, we find strength to face the day
In Your Presence all our fears are washed away, washed away

Hosanna, hosanna
You are the God Who saves us, worthy of all our praises
Hosanna, hosanna
Come have Your way among us
We welcome You here, Lord Jesus

Hear the sound of hearts returning to You, we turn to You
In Your Kingdom broken lives are made new, You make us new
‘Cause when we see You, we find strength to face the day
In Your Presence all our fears are washed away, washed away

Hosanna, hosanna
You are the God Who saves us, worthy of all our praises
Hosanna, hosanna
Come have Your way among us
We welcome You here, Lord Jesus

‘Cause when we see You, we find strength to face the day
In Your Presence all our fears are washed away
‘Cause when we see You, we find strength to face the day
In Your Presence all our fears are washed away, washed away

Hosanna, hosanna
You are the God Who saves us, worthy of all our praises
Hosanna, hosanna
Come have Your way among us
We welcome You here, Lord Jesus

Hosanna, hosanna
Hosanna, hosanna

_________________________

English Standard Version (ESV)   The Holy Bible, English Standard Version Copyright © 2001 by Crossway Bibles, a division of Good News Publishers.

Images courtesy of:
Ps. 77:14.    http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3015/2963789034_1f30766c55.jpg
two hands.  http://fabliz.files.wordpress.com/2011/02/jesus_holding_hands_with_child_5ts3.jpg
I will meditate . . .  calligraphy by Mark Williams.    https://dwellingintheword.files.wordpress.com/2011/11/ps-77-121.jpg
parting the Red Sea.  http://www.myuniquegiftidea.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/07/crossing-the-red-sea.png
Leave a Reply

