1764.) Psalm 56

Ps56 v3 flowers

Psalm 56 (Contemporary English Version)

(For the music leader.  To the tune “A Silent Dove in the Distance.”  A special psalm by David when the Philistines captured him in Gath.)

The story of David being captured by the Philistines is recorded in 1 Samuel 21:10-15.

A Prayer of Trust in God

1Have pity, God Most High!

I love that many psalms begin with an imperative, commanding God to do something:  Have mercy on me!

My enemies chase me all day.

2Many of them are pursuing

and attacking me,

3but even when I am afraid,

I keep on trusting you.

Ps56 bird

“He feared, but that fear did not fill the whole area of his mind, for he adds, ‘I will trust in thee.‘ It is possible, then, for fear and faith to occupy the mind at the same moment.”

–Charles Haddon Spurgeon

4I praise your promises!

I trust you and am not afraid.

No one can harm me.

5Enemies spend the whole day

finding fault with me;

all they think about

is how to do me harm.

6They attack from ambush,

watching my every step

and hoping to kill me.

7They won’t get away with these crimes, God,

because when you get angry,

you destroy people.

8You have kept record

of my days of wandering.

You have stored my tears

in your bottle

and counted each of them.

Lake Pepin, a narrow 12-mile-long section of the Mississippi River, is bounded by forests and craggy bluffs. When Father Louis Hennepin discovered the lake in 1680, he called it “Lac de Pleurs” (Lake of Tears) after observing some Sioux weeping near the lake over the death of a chief’s son.

I have a friend who is sure she will live next to a lake in heaven, a lake made of the tears she has cried here on earth and the Lord has collected for her!

9When I pray, LORD God,

my enemies will retreat,

because I know for certain

that you are with me.

Romans 8:31 (NIV)

What, then, shall we say in response to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?

10I praise your promises!

11I trust you and am not afraid.

No one can harm me.

12I will keep my promises

to you, my God,

and bring you gifts.

13You protected me from death

and kept me from stumbling,

so that I would please you

and follow the light

that leads to life.

John 8:12 (ESV)

Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

_________________________

Music:

The NIV has the last clause as “that I may walk before God in the light of life.” One definition of marching is “to walk steadily forward in step with others.” Put them together and that seems to be not a bad way to envision the Church!

“Siyahamba” is a South African hymn.  The title means we are walking or we are marching in the Zulu language. Sung  HERE  by the Rondo Histriea from Pula, Croatia.

_________________________

Contemporary English Version (CEV) Copyright © 1995 by American Bible Society

Images courtesy of:
verse 3 with flowers.    http://ourdailyblossom.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/04/110405.jpg
bird and “When I am afraid . . . ”   http://www.billpech.com/917psalm563_800300.jpg
tears in a bottle.    https://dwellingintheword.files.wordpress.com/2010/12/tears.jpg
Lake Pepin.    http://media.rd.com/rd/images/rdc/books/most-scenic-drives-in-america/central-states-great-river-road-04-ss.jpg
saguaro cactus.    http://wonders.wallpaperdave.com/ps56-13.jpg
Leave a Reply

