1770.) Psalm 63

Psalm 63 (English Standard Version)

A Psalm of David, when he was in the wilderness of Judah.

Most commentators believe this psalm to belong either to David’s wilderness years before he came to the throne of Israel, or to his more brief exile from the throne in the rebellion of Absalom. The wilderness years when hunted by King Saul are preferred, but not held with absolute certainty.

–David Guzik

1O God, you are my God;

“The simplicity and boldness of Thou art my God is the secret of all that follows, since this relationship is the heart of the covenant, from the patriarchs to the present day (Genesis 17:8c; Hebrews 8:10c).”

–Derek Kidner

earnestly I seek you;
my soul thirsts for you;
my flesh faints for you,
as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.

“Learn from this, and do not say, ‘I will get into communion with God when I feel better,’ but long for communion now. It is one of the temptations of the devil to tell you not to pray when you do not feel like praying. Pray twice as much then.”

–Charles Haddon Spurgeon

2So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary,
beholding your power and glory.
3Because your steadfast love is better than life,
my lips will praise you.
4So I will bless you as long as I live;
in your name I will lift up my hands.

_________________________

Music:

HERE  Little Andrew sings “Your lovingkindness is better than life” — quite precious!

_________________________

5My soul will be satisfied as with fat and rich food,
and my mouth will praise you with joyful lips,
6when I remember you upon my bed,
and meditate on you in the watches of the night;
7for you have been my help,
and in the shadow of your wings I will sing for joy.
8My soul clings to you;
your right hand upholds me.

the monkey hold

from Whispers of His Power,
by Amy Carmichael

“My soul hangeth upon Thee; Thy right hand upholdeth me.”

Hindu India is divided into two great schools of thought. One school finds an illustration of what it believes in the baby monkey clinging to its mother. The other find its illustration in the mother cat holding her kitten. Psalm 63:8 unites these two thoughts, for both are true, and both together make the whole truth.

My soul hangeth upon Thee — the monkey hold. Thy right hand upholdeth me — the cat hold.

Am I tempted to be slack about my Quiet Times, or about something which nobody sees, but which weakens me? Then the word for me is Hold on. Don’t be slack. Be in earnest. My soul hangeth upon Thee.

Am I tired, tempted to fear, tempted to discouragement? There is no need to fear. “Underneath are the everlasting arms” (Deuteronomy 33:27). Thy right hand upholdeth me.

the cat hold

9But those who seek to destroy my life
shall go down into the depths of the earth;
10they shall be given over to the power of the sword;
they shall be a portion for jackals.
11But the king shall rejoice in God;
all who swear by him shall exult,
for the mouths of liars will be stopped.

_________________________

Music:

I could listen to Fernando Ortega all day long.  HERE  is his song-poem of Psalm 63.

_________________________

English Standard Version (ESV) The Holy Bible, English Standard Version Copyright © 2001 by Crossway Bibles, a division of Good News Publishers.

Images courtesy of:
butterfly.    http://www.mybutterflies.com/images/Bookmarks/6_x_4_Psalm_63-7_copy.jpg
the monkey hold.       http://thundafunda.com/393/?level=picture&id=2563
the cat hold.     https://dwellingintheword.files.wordpress.com/2011/03/catmothercarryingherkitty.jpg
One Response to 1770.) Psalm 63

  1. ultworship says:

    What a moving song!

Leave a Reply

