1773.) Psalm 57

“Under His wings I am safely abiding . . . “

Psalm 57   (NRSV)

Two versions today — NRSV and Message — your choice!

Praise and Assurance under Persecution

To the leader: Do Not Destroy. Of David. A Miktam, when he fled from Saul, in the cave.

Charles Spurgeon noted, “There are four of these ‘Destroy not’ Psalms, namely, the 57th, 58th, 59th, and 75th. In all them there is a distinct declaration of the destruction of the wicked and the preservation of the righteous.”

Be merciful to me, O God, be merciful to me,
    for in you my soul takes refuge;
in the shadow of your wings I will take refuge,
    until the destroying storms pass by.

The idea is of how a mother bird shields her young chicks from predators, from the elements, and from dangers by gathering them under her wings. Jesus used this same word picture to show his love and desired care for Jerusalem in Matthew 23:37.

–David Guzik

_________________________

Music:

“Under His Wings — I am safely abiding” is sung  HERE  by the Altar of Praise Chorale.

_________________________
I cry to God Most High,
    to God who fulfills his purpose for me.
He will send from heaven and save me,
    he will put to shame those who trample on me.
Selah

God will send forth his steadfast love and his faithfulness.

I lie down among lions
    that greedily devour human prey;
their teeth are spears and arrows,
    their tongues sharp swords.

“Would any man take the Church’s picture, saith Luther? Then let him paint a silly poor maid sitting in a wood or wilderness, compassed about with hungry lions, wolves, boars, and bears.”

–John Trapp (1601-1669)

Be exalted, O God, above the heavens.
    Let your glory be over all the earth.

Ps57 exalted

“David wants God to be exalted in his own personal circumstances and by the way he trusts and praises him even in difficulties.”

–James Montgomery Boice

They set a net for my steps;
    my soul was bowed down.
They dug a pit in my path,
    but they have fallen into it themselves.
Selah

My heart is steadfast, O God,
    my heart is steadfast.
I will sing and make melody.
    Awake, my soul!
Awake, O harp and lyre!
    I will awake the dawn.
I will give thanks to you, O Lord, among the peoples;
    I will sing praises to you among the nations.

Even from the cave, David could envision his song of praise extending to the nations and among the peoples.

–David Guzik

10 For your steadfast love is as high as the heavens;
    your faithfulness extends to the clouds.

11 Be exalted, O God, above the heavens.
    Let your glory be over all the earth.

David did not wait for his circumstances to improve before he praised God. Instead, David set his eyes on God’s unfailing love and enduring care, and he marveled at God’s glory in his own life and in all the earth.

_________________________

New Revised Standard Version (NRSV)New Revised Standard Version Bible, copyright © 1989 the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Ps57 storm
Psalm 57 (The Message)

A David Psalm, When He Hid in a Cave from Saul

1-3 Be good to me, God—and now!
I’ve run to you for dear life.
I’m hiding out under your wings
until the hurricane blows over.
I call out to High God,
the God who holds me together.
He sends orders from heaven and saves me,
he humiliates those who kick me around.
God delivers generous love,
he makes good on his word.

4 I find myself in a pride of lions
who are wild for a taste of human flesh;
Their teeth are lances and arrows,
their tongues are sharp daggers.

Sticks and stones are hard on bones.
Aimed with angry art,
Words can sting like anything.
But silence breaks the heart.

5 Soar high in the skies, O God!
Cover the whole earth with your glory!

6 They booby-trapped my path;
I thought I was dead and done for.
They dug a mantrap to catch me,
and fell in headlong themselves.

Ps57 awake7-8 I’m ready, God, so ready,
ready from head to toe,
Ready to sing, ready to raise a tune:
“Wake up, soul!
Wake up, harp! wake up, lute!
Wake up, you sleepyhead sun!”

_________________________

Music:

HERE  is “Awake, My Soul (Christ is formed in me)”  by Phillips, Craig and Dean.

_________________________

9-10 I’m thanking you, God, out loud in the streets,
singing your praises in town and country.
The deeper your love, the higher it goes;
every cloud is a flag to your faithfulness.

11 Soar high in the skies, O God!
Cover the whole earth with your glory!

_________________________

The Message (MSG) Copyright © 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002 by Eugene H. Peterson

Images courtesy of:
“Under His Wing” by Jay Bryant Ward.    http://www.lordsart.com/unhiswibyjay1.html
Be Exalted . . .    http://m1.i.pbase.com/o6/14/98514/1/73696711.5yEGDU58.Psalm57_5.jpg
storm.    https://keithnicolas.files.wordpress.com/2013/03/storm-22.png
Words can hurt.     https://dwellingintheword.files.wordpress.com/2011/02/words_can_hurt_or_heal_small.jpg
Awake, my soul.    https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/b2/75/9e/b2759eebb91036c191084ee2f4bf5487.jpg
Leave a Reply

