1806.) Psalm 60

Psalm 60 (The Message)

A David Psalm,
When He Fought Against Aram-naharaim and Aram-zobah,
and Joab Killed Twelve Thousand Edomites at the Valley of Salt

 1 Chronicles 18:11-13 give us David’s victories over Edom (and specifically in the Valley of Salt), Moab, Ammon, Philistia, and Amalek.

The victories described in 2 Samuel and 1 Chronicles do not mention the kind of setbacks lamented in this Psalm. It reminds us that the historical record often condenses events, and that the successes were real, yet not always immediate.

–David Guzik

1-2 God! you walked off and left us,
kicked our defenses to bits
And stalked off angry.
Come back. Oh please, come back!

You shook earth to the foundations,
ripped open huge crevasses.
Heal the breaks! Everything’s
coming apart at the seams.

3-5 You made your people look doom in the face,
then gave us cheap wine to drown our troubles.
Then you planted a flag to rally your people,
an unfurled flag to look to for courage.

from Whispers of His Power,
by Amy Carmichael

Psalm 60:4 — Thou hast given a banner to them that fear Thee, that it may be displayed because of the truth.

God does not give us our banners to hide away out of sight, but to display. A banner is the sign of our allegiance; it shows what side we are on in a fight. It is like the colors we wear when we are playing in athletic games.

When the devil tries to get you to behave as a Christian should not, show your banner — show your colors. “I am Christ’s.  I can’t do that.”

The wonderful thing is, that the moment we show our colors the Captain is by our side, and from Him (not from us) the devil flees. James 4:7 says, Resist the devil, and he will flee from you, for he sees behind you the mighty Conqueror who won on Calvary.

_________________________

Music:

HERE  is “True Colors” by Phil Collins. I have liked this song from the first time I heard it. It always reminds me of my husband, David, a man whose true colors are kindness and integrity.

You with the sad eyes
Don’t be discouraged
Oh I realize
It’s hard to take courage
In a world full of people
You can lose sight of it all
And the darkness inside you
Can make you feel so small

But I see your true colors
Shining through
I see your true colors
And that’s why I love you
So don’t be afraid to let it show
Your true colors
True colors are beautiful,
Like a rainbow

Show me a smile then,
Don’t be unhappy,
Can’t remember when
I last saw you laughing
If this world makes you crazy
And you’ve taken all you can bear
You call me up
Because you know I’ll be there

And I’ll see your true colors
Shining through
I see your true colors
And that’s why I love you
So don’t be afraid to let it show
Your true colors
True colors are beautiful.

_________________________

Now do something quickly, answer right now,
so the one you love best is saved.

6-8 That’s when God spoke in holy splendor,
“Bursting with joy,
I make a present of Shechem,
I hand out Succoth Valley as a gift.
Gilead’s in my pocket,
to say nothing of Manasseh.
Ephraim’s my hard hat,
Judah my hammer;
Moab’s a scrub bucket,
I mop the floor with Moab,
Spit on Edom,
rain fireworks all over Philistia.”

Speaking as an inspired prophet, David understood the words God Himself spoke. God Himself would rejoice in His Lordship over Israel and His victory over the nations.

–David Guzik

9-10 Who will take me to the thick of the fight?
Who’ll show me the road to Edom?
You aren’t giving up on us, are you, God?
refusing to go out with our troops?

Ps60 v12

11-12 Give us help for the hard task;
human help is worthless.
In God we’ll do our very best;
he’ll flatten the opposition for good.

Philippians 4:13 (NKJV)

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

_________________________

The Message (MSG) Copyright © 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002 by Eugene H. Peterson

Images courtesy of:
The First Aid.     http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2783/4434594530_359b6bcd6c_z.jpg
Christian flag.    http://www.montney.com/flag/christianflag2a.jpg
verse 12.  https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/19/8b/77/198b772153f40a71fc8ad28a9219f9e3.jpg
Leave a Reply

