1818.) Psalm 3

Psalm 3   (NRSV)

Trust in God under Adversity

This is the first Psalm with a title: “A Psalm of David when he fled from Absalom his son.”  The events are recorded in 2 Samuel 15-18, but, as David Guzik says, “the heart is recorded in this Psalm.”

1O Lord, how many are my foes! Many are rising against me;

2many are saying to me, “There is no help for you in God.” Selah

Shimei was an example of someone who said that God was against David and he was just getting what he deserved (2 Samuel 16:8).

“If all the trials which come from heaven, all the temptations which ascend from hell, and all the crosses which arise from the earth, could be mixed and pressed together, they would not make a trial so terrible as that which is contained in this verse. It is the most bitter of all afflictions to be led to fear that there is no help for us in God.”

–Charles Haddon Spurgeon

3But you, O Lord, are a shield around me, my glory, and the one who lifts up my head.

4I cry aloud to the Lord, and he answers me from his holy hill. Selah

5I lie down and sleep; I wake again, for the Lord sustains me.

Sleep is such a blessing.  When we are dead to the world, snoring away — our lungs are breathing, our livers are cleansing, our digestive tract is working, our brain is messaging, our blood is flowing:  it is the Lord sustaining us!

6I am not afraid of ten thousands of people who have set themselves against me all around.

Romans 8:31 (ESV)

What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?

7Rise up, O Lord! Deliver me, O my God! For you strike all my enemies on the cheek; you break the teeth of the wicked.

This vivid metaphor is also used in Psalm 58:6. It speaks of the total domination and defeat of the enemy. David looked for protection in this Psalm, but more than protection — he looked for victory. It wasn’t enough for David to survive the threat to the kingdom. He had to be victorious over the threat, and he would with the blessing of God.

–David Guzik

8Deliverance belongs to the Lord; may your blessing be on your people! Selah

_________________________

Music:

What an encouraging truth!  HERE  is “Mighty to Save,” by Hillsong.

_________________________

The New Revised Standard Version, copyright 1989 by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Images courtesy of:
trust stone.  http://khushi.files.wordpress.com/2007/12/trust.jpg
2 Responses to 1818.) Psalm 3

  1. ORVAL MOREN says:

    Hello: Thanks again. Will you make Mt. Carmel this summer? Peace, Orval

    >

    • Rebecca says:

      No, I am not coming this summer. But I have some wonderful memories of presenting Scripture there! Wishing you the best —

Leave a Reply

