1877.) Song of Solomon 6

Song of Solomon 6   (NIV)

   Friends

1 Where has your beloved gone,
most beautiful of women?
Which way did your beloved turn,
that we may look for him with you?

She

2 My beloved has gone down to his garden,
to the beds of spices,
to browse in the gardens
and to gather lilies.
3 I am my beloved’s and my beloved is mine;
he browses among the lilies.

My True Love Hath My Heart
by Sir Philip Sidney (1554-1586)

My true-love hath my heart and I have his,
By just exchange one for the other given;
I hold his dear and mine he cannot miss;
There never was a better bargain driven.
My true-love hath my heart and I have his.

His heart in me keeps him and me in one;
My heart in him his thoughts and senses guides;
He loves my heart for once it was his own,
I cherish his because in me it bides.
My true-love hath my heart and I have his.

He4 You are as beautiful as Tirzah, my darling,
as lovely as Jerusalem,
as majestic as troops with banners.

from Whispers of His Power,
by Amy Carmichael

Beautiful art thou, my fair one, majestic as bannered hosts.
— Song of Solomon 6:4

Just now a tree on the very top of the hill is all tipped with the crimson of young leaves. Through the field glasses it is like an army with banners, and every single little crimson banner is held out and waves in the wind.

Beautiful art thou, my fair one, majestic as bannered hosts. That is what our Lord calls us, thinking of us as so much better than we really are, for that is His loving custom. If we truly love Him it is impossible to hear such words without wanting to rise to them.

Are we like an army with banners? Or are we slouching along anyhow? It would spoil a bannered host if a single banner-bearer trailed his banner in the dust, and marched out of step, and slacked. Don’t let any one of us think, “It doesn’t matter about me.”  It does matter about you. Stand beautiful!

5 Turn your eyes from me;
they overwhelm me.
Your hair is like a flock of goats
descending from Gilead.
6 Your teeth are like a flock of sheep
coming up from the washing.
Each has its twin,
not one of them is missing.
7 Your temples behind your veil
are like the halves of a pomegranate.
8 Sixty queens there may be,
and eighty concubines,
and virgins beyond number;
9 but my dove, my perfect one, is unique,
the only daughter of her mother,
the favorite of the one who bore her.
The young women saw her and called her blessed;
the queens and concubines praised her.

Friends

10 Who is this that appears like the dawn,
fair as the moon, bright as the sun,
majestic as the stars in procession?

LOVE IS . . . power.

The imagery in Song of Songs is startling.  It is never weak and wimpy, sweet and swoony.  The imagery is so strong and active that it is military.  What woman has even been flattered by her beloved’s comparing her to an army and a fortress?  There is no chauvinistic passivity here.  The bride is not a shrinking violet, nor does the groom want her to be.  She is as active as he is but in a totally feminine way.  She is the dawn, and the dawn “comes up like thunder” here.  When God our groom comes to us with his love, we are not flattened but straightened, not turned off but turned on, not made passive but made active. 

–from Three Philosophies of Life, by Peter Kreeft

He

11 I went down to the grove of nut trees
to look at the new growth in the valley,
to see if the vines had budded
or the pomegranates were in bloom.
12 Before I realized it,
my desire set me among the royal chariots of my people.

Friends

13 Come back, come back, O Shulammite;
come back, come back, that we may gaze on you!

He

Why would you gaze on the Shulammite
as on the dance of Mahanaim?

_________________________

Music:

HERE  is “If Ever I Would Leave You”  —  from Camelot, sung by Robert Goulet.  I had the privilege years ago of seeing Goulet as King Arthur in a Camelot production at the Fox Theatre in Atlanta.  It remains an enchanted memory.

_________________________

New International Version (NIV)   Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica

Images courtesy of:
I am my beloved’s . . .    https://dwellingintheword.files.wordpress.com/2016/07/200f8-i2bam2bmy2bbeloved2527s.png
two hearts.   http://www.clker.com/cliparts/4/d/5/d/12065573741668753765egore911_2_hearts.svg.hi.png
red tree.    http://staytondailyphoto.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/dennyb_redtree.jpg
Leave a Reply

