1999.) 1 Peter 2 Christmas Thoughts

1p2-christ-suffered

1 Peter 2:21-25   (NLT)

21 For God called you to do good, even if it means suffering, just as Christ suffered for you. He is your example, and you must follow in his steps.

“Seeing the Light” by Osnat Tzadok

from My Utmost for His Highest,
by Oswald Chambers

The Cross of Jesus is the revelation of God’s judgment on sin. Never tolerate the idea of martyrdom about the Cross of Jesus Christ. The Cross was a superb triumph in which the foundations of hell were shaken. There is nothing more certain in Time or Eternity than what Jesus Christ did on the Cross:  He switched the whole of the human race back into a right relationship with God. He made Redemption the basis of human life, that is, He made a way for every son of man to get into communion with God.

The centre of salvation is the Cross of Jesus, and the reason it is so easy to obtain salvation is because it cost God so much.

22 He never sinned,
nor ever deceived anyone.
23 He did not retaliate when he was insulted,
nor threaten revenge when he suffered.
He left his case in the hands of God,
who always judges fairly.
24 He personally carried our sins
in his body on the cross
so that we can be dead to sin
and live for what is right.
By his wounds
you are healed.
25 Once you were like sheep
who wandered away.
But now you have turned to your Shepherd,
the Guardian of your souls.

_________________________

Music:

HERE is a beautiful Celtic rendition of “The Lord’s My Shepherd.”

2. Shepherd - Simon Dewey

Psalm 23 (The Message)

God, my shepherd! I don’t need a thing.
You have bedded me down in lush meadows,
you find me quiet pools to drink from.
True to your word,
you let me catch my breath
and send me in the right direction.

Even when the way goes through
Death Valley,
I’m not afraid
when you walk at my side.
Your trusty shepherd’s crook
makes me feel secure.

You serve me a six-course dinner
right in front of my enemies.
You revive my drooping head;
my cup brims with blessing.

Your beauty and love chase after me
every day of my life.
I’m back home in the house of God
for the rest of my life.

_________________________

Holy Bible. New Living Translation copyright © 1996, 2004 by Tyndale Charitable Trust. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers.

Images courtesy of:
 Christ suffered for you.   http://cdn.knowing-jesus.com/wp-content/uploads/1-Peter-2-22-You-Have-Been-Called-For-This-Purpose-beige-copy1.jpg
Osnat.    http://www.osnatfineart.com/art/abstract-paintings/5793-Seeing-the-Light.jsp
The Lord is My Shepherd by Simon Dewey.   http://ldsbookstore.com/Shared/Images/Product/The-Lord-Is-My-Shepherd-Print/the-lord-is-my-shepherd-simon-dewey.jpg
2 Responses to 1999.) 1 Peter 2 Christmas Thoughts

  1. Sue says:

    Rebecca – I have been loving these “Christmas Thoughts” from throughout Scripture – the Gospel every day –

    • Rebecca says:

      Thank you, Sue. I wanted to do something short for the busy days, something encouraging as we leave the weight of 2016 behind and look forward to a new year, something that raises the name of Jesus , high and lifted up . . .

Leave a Reply

