2011.) Luke 5:1-16

“Jesus teaches from the boat” drawing by Annie Vallotton,              for the Good News Bible

Luke 5:1-16 (NIV)

The Calling of the First Disciples

1One day as Jesus was standing by the Lake of Gennesaret,with the people crowding around him and listening to the word of God, 2he saw at the water’s edge two boats, left there by the fishermen, who were washing their nets. 3He got into one of the boats, the one belonging to Simon, and asked him to put out a little from shore. Then he sat down and taught the people from the boat.

4When he had finished speaking, he said to Simon, “Put out into deep water, and let down the nets for a catch.”

5Simon answered, “Master, we’ve worked hard all night and haven’t caught anything. But because you say so, I will let down the nets.”

The particular ancient Greek word Luke used for Master is unique to Luke’s Gospel. The word has the ideas “commander,” “leader,” or perhaps even “boss.” With this title, Peter shows he is willing to take orders from Jesus.

We have toiled all night and caught nothing; nevertheless at Your word I will let down the net: Peter could have come up with any number of possible excuses.

– “I worked all night and I’m tired.”
– “I know a lot more about fishing than some carpenter.”
– “The best fishing is at night, not in the day time.”
– “All these crowds and loud teaching has scared the fish away.”
– “We already washed our nets.”
– “Jesus may know religion but He doesn’t know fishing.”

Peter didn’t make such excuses, and His faith in Jesus was well rewarded. Peter understood that he probably knew more about fishing than a carpenter did and that he had worked all night without any results. The only reason why Peter did what Jesus asked was because he believed in Jesus, not because the circumstances seemed right.

It makes all the difference in the world when our work is directed by Jesus. We can work-even work hard-for a long time with no results. But when Jesus directs our work, we see results.

How many harvests do we miss out on because we make excuses instead of doing what Jesus said?

–David Guzik

“Peter’s Catch of Fish” by Eric de Saussure, 1968.

6When they had done so, they caught such a large number of fish that their nets began to break. 7So they signaled their partners in the other boat to come and help them, and they came and filled both boats so full that they began to sink.

8When Simon Peter saw this, he fell at Jesus’ knees and said, “Go away from me, Lord; I am a sinful man!”

Jeremiah 3:12-13 (NLT)

I am merciful.
I will not be angry with you forever.
Only acknowledge your guilt.

9For he and all his companions were astonished at the catch of fish they had taken, 10and so were James and John, the sons of Zebedee, Simon’s partners.

Then Jesus said to Simon, “Don’t be afraid; from now on you will catch men.” 11So they pulled their boats up on shore, left everything and followed him.

The Man With Leprosy

luke5-leper

12While Jesus was in one of the towns, a man came along who was covered with leprosy. When he saw Jesus, he fell with his face to the ground and begged him, “Lord, if you are willing, you can make me clean.”

Isaiah 38:16 (ESV)

O Lord, restore me to health and make me live!

13Jesus reached out his hand and touched the man. “I am willing,” he said. “Be clean!” And immediately the leprosy left him.

14Then Jesus ordered him, “Don’t tell anyone, but go, show yourself to the priest and offer the sacrifices that Moses commanded for your cleansing, as a testimony to them.”

15Yet the news about him spread all the more, so that crowds of people came to hear him and to be healed of their sicknesses. 16But Jesus often withdrew to lonely places and prayed.

_________________________

Music:

This song was  suggested to me by my son Devlin.  He said the idea of the song fits Peter, the leper, and tomorrow, the rest of the chapter — the paralyzed man and the tax collector — yes, all of them! And perhaps all of us, too!  What do you think?  Lyrics follow —  HERE  is Jars of Clay and “Dead Man / Carry Me.”

I’ve got a lot of things on my mind.
I’m looking at my body
through a new spy satellite.
I try to lift a finger,
but I don’t think I can make the call.
So tell me if I move,
’cause I don’t feel anything at all.

Oh, oh, oh…

So carry me!
I’m just a dead man,
lying on the carpet,
can’t find a heartbeat.
Make me breathe!
I wanna be a new man,
I’m tired of the old one;
out with the old plan.

I woke up from my dream
about an empty funeral.
But it was better than the party
full of people I don’t really know.
Well, they’ve got hearts to break and burn,
dirty hands to feel the earth.
I’ve got something in my veins,
but I can’t seem to make it work…
…won’t work.

So carry me!
I’m just a dead man,
lying on the carpet,
can’t find a heartbeat.
Make me breathe!
I wanna be a new man,
I’m tired of the old one;
out with the old plan.

Can you find a beat… Inside of me?
Any pulse? Getting worse…
Any pulse? Getting worse…
Inside of me… Can you find a beat?

Carry me!

I’m just a dead man,
lying on the carpet,
can’t find a heartbeat.
Make me breathe!
I wanna be a new man,
I’m tired of the old one;
out with the old plan.

Carry me!
(Carry me!)
I’m just a dead man,
lying on the carpet,
can’t find a heartbeat.
Make me breathe!
(Make me breathe!)
I wanna be a new man,
I’m tired of the old one;
out with the old plan.

Album: Good Monsters (2005)

_________________________

New International Version (NIV) Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984 by Biblica

Images courtesy of:
Vallotton.   http://www.artbible.net/3JC/-Mat-13,01_Parable%20The%20sower_Parabole%20Le%20semeur/20%20VALLOTTON%20JESUS%20TEACHING%20FROM%20A%20BOAT.jpg
De Saussure.  http://www.artbible.net/3JC/-Mat-04,18-First%20disciples%20_Premiers%20disciples/20%20DE%20SAUSSURE%20LA%20PECHE%20DE%20PIERRE.jpg
Jesus heals a leper.   http://celebrationpublications.org/sites/default/files/blogart/patmarrin/unclean.jpg?1389365923
Leave a Reply

