2056.) Psalms 100 and 101

Psalm 100   (NRSV)

All Lands Summoned to Praise God

This is the only Psalm entitled “A Psalm of Praise.”

1Make a joyful noise to the Lord, all the earth.

2Worship the Lord with gladness; come into his presence with singing.

3Know that the Lord is God. It is he that made us, and we are his; we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture.

4Enter his gates with thanksgiving, and his courts with praise. Give thanks to him, bless his name.

5For the Lord is good; his steadfast love endures forever, and his faithfulness to all generations.

_________________________

Music:

Two choices for our first psalm:  In Latin Psalm 100 begins, Jubilate Deo, and it has frequently been put to music with that title.  HERE  is a beautiful composition by Peter Anglea (born in 1988 and a graduate of Bob Jones University in Church Music, piano and composition), sung by the Rivertree Singers, a choral ensemble of young professionals from Greenville, South Carolina.

HERE  is Messianic praise and worship musician Paul Wilbur and “Praise Adonai.”

_________________________

Psalm 101   (NRSV)

A Sovereign’s Pledge of Integrity and Justice

This psalm is a carefully balanced psalm of decision.  Carefully formed positive decisions are balanced equally with the negative decisions that enable the positive decisions to be carried out.

Making a choice involves two things.  It is the rejecting of one thing to do another.

1I will sing of loyalty and of justice; to you, O Lord, I will sing.

2I will study the way that is blameless. When shall I attain it? I will walk with integrity of heart within my house;

Oh, that the Lord would guide my ways
To keep His statutes still!
Oh, that my God would grant me grace
To know and do His will!

3I will not set before my eyes anything that is base. I hate the work of those who fall away; it shall not cling to me.

4Perverseness of heart shall be far from me; I will know nothing of evil.

Order my footsteps by Thy Word
And make my heart sincere;
Let sin have no dominion, Lord,
But keep my conscience clear.

5One who secretly slanders a neighbor I will destroy. A haughty look and an arrogant heart I will not tolerate.

6I will look with favor on the faithful in the land, so that they may live with me; whoever walks in the way that is blameless shall minister to me.

Assist my soul, too apt to stray,
A stricter watch to keep;
And should I e’er forget Thy way,
Restore Thy wandering sheep.

7No one who practices deceit shall remain in my house; no one who utters lies shall continue in my presence.

8Morning by morning I will destroy all the wicked in the land, cutting off all evildoers from the city of the Lord.

Make me to walk in Thy commands,
‘Tis a delightful road;
Nor let my head, or heart, or hands,
Offend against my God.

–Isaac Watts

_________________________

The New Revised Standard Version, copyright 1989 by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Images courtesy of:
Worship.   https://dwellingintheword.files.wordpress.com/2012/06/psalm100-2cborders.jpg
Psalm 101.   https://dwellingintheword.files.wordpress.com/2012/06/sing-101.jpg?w=450
Leave a Reply

