2133.) Psalm 27

Psalm 27 (NIV)

1 The LORD is my light and my salvation—
whom shall I fear?

In the New Testament, John 1:9 calls Jesus the light:”The true light, which gives light to everyone, was coming into the world.”

The LORD is the stronghold of my life—
of whom shall I be afraid?

If we rarely know what it is to have God be the strength of our life, perhaps it is because we trust in so many other things for strength. We find it easy to trust in our wisdom, our experience, our friends, and our resources. David knew a strength greater than all that.

–David Guzik

2 When evil men advance against me
to devour my flesh,
when my enemies and my foes attack me,
they will stumble and fall.

3 Though an army besiege me,
my heart will not fear;
though war break out against me,
even then will I be confident.

4 One thing I ask of the LORD,
this is what I seek:
that I may dwell in the house of the LORD
all the days of my life,
to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD
and to seek him in his temple.

_________________________

Music:

I have a soft spot for musical plays, and one of the best, I think,  is Fiddler on the Roof. My favorite song from this touching show is  HERE,  “If I Were a Rich Man” — for what Tevye thinks would be “the sweetest thing of all” to do with his wealth. . .

_________________________

5 For in the day of trouble
he will keep me safe in his dwelling;
he will hide me in the shelter of his tabernacle
and set me high upon a rock.

6 Then my head will be exalted
above the enemies who surround me;
at his tabernacle will I sacrifice with shouts of joy;
I will sing and make music to the LORD.

7 Hear my voice when I call, O LORD;
be merciful to me and answer me.

8 My heart says of you, “Seek his face!”
Your face, LORD, I will seek.

Revelation 22:1-4 (NIV)

Then the angel showed me the river of the water of life, as clear as crystal, flowing from the throne of God and of the Lamb down the middle of the great street of the city. On each side of the river stood the tree of life, bearing twelve crops of fruit, yielding its fruit every month. And the leaves of the tree are for the healing of the nations. No longer will there be any curse. The throne of God and of the Lamb will be in the city, and his servants will serve him. They will see his face, and his name will be on their foreheads.

9 Do not hide your face from me,
do not turn your servant away in anger;
you have been my helper.
Do not reject me or forsake me,
O God my Savior.

10 Though my father and mother forsake me,
the LORD will receive me.

    Our Father, which art in heaven.

    What does that mean?

    Answer.  With these words God invites us to believe that He is our true Father, and that we are His true children, so that we may pray to Him in confidence and in all trust, as little children do to their fathers.

–Martin Luther’s Small Catechism

11 Teach me your way, O LORD;
lead me in a straight path
because of my oppressors.

12 Do not turn me over to the desire of my foes,
for false witnesses rise up against me,
breathing out violence.

13 I am still confident of this:
I will see the goodness of the LORD
in the land of the living.

14 Wait for the LORD;
be strong and take heart
and wait for the LORD.

from Experiencing God Day-by-Day
by Henry T. Blackaby and Richard Blackaby

Waiting is one of the hardest things to do.  We want to be people of action.  We feel better if we are doing something to address our need, but waiting forces us to rely on God.  David learned what it meant to wait.  He was chosen by God to be the next king of Israel, then spent years waiting for the day God’s word would come to pass in his life.  As he waited, a paranoid, egocentric king occupied the throne that had been promised to him.  David spent his time hiding in caves and living among his enemies.  As he waited he saw good friends murdered and his family and possessions taken.  He saw Israel’s enemies wreak havoc on his nation.  Perhaps no one ever faced greater adversity while waiting upon God’s promise than David did.  He certainly understood what it meant to become discouraged and fearful.

But David also enjoyed the reward for waiting upon the Lord.  He became the greatest king in Israel’s history, and, more importantly, through his trials he became a man after God’s own heart.  The psalms David wrote during his days as a fugitive have been cherished words of encouragement for millions of people through the ages.  Through David’s descendants came the Messiah.  David’s willingness to wait has blessed us all.

Times of waiting on the Lord can be some of the most precious moments in your life (John 11:1-6).  If you are waiting on God for something, read Isaiah 40:31 and find encouragement as you wait for Him to fulfill His promises to you.

“God’s timing is always perfect, and always later than mine.”

–my dear friend Hansi

_________________________

New International Version (NIV) Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984 by Biblica

Images courtesy of:
Psalm 27:1 and lighthouse.    http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p308/christianmyspace/graphics/psalm27_1.jpg
v. 4.  http://www.thefellowshipsite.org/uploads/7/4/1/7/7417809/7403250.jpg?711
“Face of Jesus” sculpture by Patrick Rankin.    https://images.fineartamerica.com/images/artworkimages/mediumlarge/1/face-of-jesus-patrick-rankin.jpg
The Lord’s Prayer.   https://askgramps.org/wp-content/uploads/the_lords_prayer.gif
“Waiting in repose.”    https://www.journeywithjesus.net/Essays/Waiting_In_Repose_sm.jpg
wrist watch.    https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/a8/6a/93/a86a936e7dbc1cb38270a6db88078fc2.jpg
Leave a Reply

