960.) Psalm 119:89-112

p119 lamp to my feet

Psalm 119:89-112   (NIV)

ל Lamedh

89 Your word, Lord, is eternal;
it stands firm in the heavens.
90 Your faithfulness continues through all generations;
you established the earth, and it endures.

P119 Genesis1_1

The word of God itself is what establishes the earth and causes it to abide. The earth and all of creation began with a word from God (Genesis 1); it is no surprise that they are also sustained and endure according to the word of God.

This gives new understanding to some wonderful statements of Scripture:

The grass withers, the flower fades, but the word of our God stands forever (Isaiah 40:8)

Heaven and earth will pass away, but My words will by no means pass away (Matthew 24:35)

These passages put the word of God outside the created world and indicate that the word of God is more permanent and enduring that creation itself. Since the created world came into being by God’s word and is sustained by His word, this makes perfect sense.

–David Guzik

91 Your laws endure to this day,
for all things serve you.
92 If your law had not been my delight,
I would have perished in my affliction.
93 I will never forget your precepts,
for by them you have preserved my life.
94 Save me, for I am yours;
I have sought out your precepts.
95 The wicked are waiting to destroy me,
but I will ponder your statutes.
96 To all perfection I see a limit,
but your commands are boundless.

I like how this verse is phrased in The Message:

I see the limits to everything human,
    but the horizons can’t contain your commands!

מ Mem

97 Oh, how I love your law!
I meditate on it all day long.
98 Your commands are always with me
and make me wiser than my enemies.
99 I have more insight than all my teachers,
for I meditate on your statutes.

In 1930, Wheaton College presented Ironside with an honorary Doctorate of Letters degree.

In 1930, Wheaton College presented Ironside, who quit school after eighth grade, with an honorary Doctorate of Letters degree.

There is a story about the life of Harry Ironside, the pastor and author and Bible commentator.  Ironside went to visit a man near death, suffering from tuberculosis.  The man was almost dead and could barely speak.  As Ironside spoke to him the sick man asked, “Young man, are you trying to preach Christ, are you not?”  Ironside said that he was, and the man replied, “Well, sit down a little, and let us talk together about the Word of God.”  Then the man opened his Bible and spoke with Ironside until his strength was gone; he shared insights from the Bible that Ironside had not appreciated or even seen before. 

Ironside was stunned and asked the man, “Where did you get these things?  Can you tell me where I can find a book that will open them up to me?  Did you get them in seminary or college?” 

The old man replied, “My dear young man, I learned these things on my knees on the mud floor of a little sod cottage in the north of Ireland.  There with my open Bible before me, I used to kneel for hours at a time and ask the Spirit of God to reveal Christ to my soul and to open the Word to my heart.  He taught me more on my knees on that mud floor than I ever could have learned in all the seminaries or colleges in the world.”

100 I have more understanding than the elders,
for I obey your precepts.
101 I have kept my feet from every evil path
so that I might obey your word.
102 I have not departed from your laws,
for you yourself have taught me.

P119 honey

103 How sweet are your words to my taste,
sweeter than honey to my mouth!

104 I gain understanding from your precepts;
therefore I hate every wrong path.

נ Nun

P119 oil lamp

105 Your word is a lamp for my feet,
a light on my path.

How are we to walk?

Ephesians 4:1-3  (NASB)

Therefore I, the prisoner of the Lord, implore you to walk in a manner worthy of the calling with which you have been called, with all humility and gentleness, with patience, showing tolerance for one another in love, being diligent to preserve the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace.

Isaiah 57:1-2  (NASB)

The righteous man perishes, and no man takes it to heart;
And devout men are taken away, while no one understands.
For the righteous man is taken away from evil,
He enters into peace;
They rest in their beds,
Each one who walked in his upright way.

1 John 1:7   (NASB)

If we walk in the Light as He Himself is in the Light,
we have fellowship with one another,
and the blood of Jesus His Son cleanses us from all sin.

Micah 6:8   (NASB)

He has told you, O man, what is good;
And what does the Lord require of you
But to do justice, to love kindness,
And to walk humbly with your God?

106 I have taken an oath and confirmed it,
that I will follow your righteous laws.
107 I have suffered much;
preserve my life, Lord, according to your word.
108 Accept, Lord, the willing praise of my mouth,
and teach me your laws.
109 Though I constantly take my life in my hands,
I will not forget your law.
110 The wicked have set a snare for me,
but I have not strayed from your precepts.
111 Your statutes are my heritage forever;
they are the joy of my heart.
112 My heart is set on keeping your decrees
to the very end.

Matthew 28:20   (NIV)

“And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

_________________________

Music:

Can you hear it even before the music starts?  Amy Grant and “Thy Word.”  Click  HERE  to listen!

_________________________

Images courtesy of:
Psalm 119:105.   http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-7Ao9XRz0zbc/UDtrZLWOb-I/AAAAAAAABJw/Ba5A_NJ92K8/s1600/lamp+to+my+feet.jpg
Genesis 1:1.    http://wallpaper4god.com/en/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/genesis1_1.jpg
Wheaton College, IL.    http://sojo.net/sites/default/files/mainimages/blog/2761333084_d55def12f9.jpg
honey.    http://cdnimg.visualizeus.com/thumbs/6d/49/honey,psalms,119:103,bible,verse,typography-6d494f04f4b2a130d5592b4d363b43ab_h.jpg
Psalm 119:105 with oil lamp.   http://www.emblibrary.com/el/Product_images/E3592.jpg

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.